Pine Point 1.6: Sympathetic Sea

June 11th, I think? 19 days until Delta departs.

I don’t know what happened last night.

Tenderfoot crew is all gone. The ship went down faster than I ever thought a boat would sink. But what should I expect? It’s thousands of tonnes of metal. As soon as the rocks broke through the bottom, there was no stopping the water from flooding in and claiming the boat as it’s own. The lake didn’t just take the boat, it tore it apart.

I tried to look for the crew, but the shouting stopped. I barely made it to shore, my arms felt like lead. I tried looking. I wanted to keep looking. But I knew I had to build a fire or else I’d freeze to death. I was shaking so bad it hurt my stomach. I found my pack (and dried this journal by the fire all morning) as well as one severely damaged box of rations.

I woke up to warm sunlight on my cheeks. The water was calm, and look as thought it had sympathetically returned some of our belongings to the shore.

I still feel weak, but I need to keep looking.

The sun is setting, and if it weren’t for the horrific events yesterday I’d find it beautiful, sitting on the beach watching the pink and purple hues of the sunset across the clear sky. Brent thinks it’s beautiful too. I found him this afternoon on the beach. His leg is badly hurt, and he can’t walk without assistance. Unfortunately he hadn’t seen hide nor hair of the rest of the crew. We stumbled to the camp fire I made by the rocks, and I left him for a while to continue searching the beach.

I found a medkit that was unfortunately broken open in the crash, so only the contents that were strapped inside each lid stayed put. All the cloth strips and bandages were water logged and of course the sanitation level of them horribly compromised.

I didn’t like how hesitant Brent was, but he showed me how to bandage his leg anyway, compromising that something to bind the wound would be better than nothing. It took forever to wash the sand out with water we tried to boil over the campfire in a tin can. I never thought I’d feel like I took a kettle for granted, but that was an unbelievable amount of effort for just a tin of water.

Brent described two plants he thinks grow in the area that could be ground into a healing salve, as well as a few edible leaves and berry plants I might be able to find. I asked him to repeat himself and did my best to sketch the ones he told me about. He looks pretty warn out…I hope I can find something to help him tomorrow.

He warned me that most bushes with varied red colored berries are fine, avoid one that has all bright red berries like a poinsettia. Oh and a purple berried one, he said looks like premature blueberries.

Red variation good; all red and purple bad. Got it.

I’ll search the beach one last time before resting for the night.

[ 1.5 ] Black Water | Rescue Mission [ 1.7 ]

3 responses to “Pine Point 1.6: Sympathetic Sea

  1. Oooh… I didn’t expect that, thought they’d get lost one after another. Not all at once and so soon. 😦 Fortunately, they’re two now. (Brent was one of those who had a bit medical knowledge, wasn’t he? That could prove useful.)
    But if he has survived, maybe there are others still out there.
    And something has to be wrong. They don’t send a team out there not knowing that it’s at least a touch of safe. Or they have a reason for doing it nonetheless.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are certainly a lot of unknowns in this story! And apologies for breezing over what else happened that night, but it’s purposeful! Miranda blacked out, and will have to discover what happened to everyone else.

      Like

  2. Thank goodness there’s another survivor, Brent, and someone who knows a bit of medical and plant knowledge. That is useful, although he is injured. External injuries only or internal…I guess we will find out soon. A small medical kit…that’s something…but the others are still missing…or elsewhere on this shore…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment